top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Culture of Honor


I was reading in Romans 12 today and I paused at verse ten. In the New American Standard Bible it says, "Give preference to one another in honor." The center column reference note says this means to "Outdo one another in showing honor." What does it mean to "honor" someone? It means we esteem them highly. We place a high value on them. It is an internal attitude of respect, courtesy, and reverence, but it should show itself in our outward behavior. If we truly respect and honor someone, it will show in the way we treat them.

Our society, as a whole, has gotten away from the culture of honor of years past. I personally would never have thought of talking back to my parents or disrespecting them. I know personality has something to do with it, but I also would never have been disrespectful to a teacher or someone in authority. We didn't have the enormous volume of mainstream media and internet that we have today, but even if we had, I don't believe we would have seen as much dishonor as we see today.

Media has played a huge part in how people are honored or dishonored. Many years ago sitcoms began to show husbands and men in a negative light. They were the object of ridicule by their wives and children. That seemed to be just the beginning. As time has gone by, shows that used to be called situational comedies have gotten where they really are not that funny if you look at them in this light.

When we start devaluing any group of people by criticizing them, being sarcastic, or disrepecting them, it hurts the entire culture. This is probably not more evident than in the political realm. The "talking heads" and talk radio have helped fostered a negative view of others, but it is not limited them. The candidates themselves sometimes attack the person themselves. Whether it is on the internet or television, or radio, many are taking to the media to attack people, not just their ideas and views. I love our country and I agree that we should be knowledgeable of the candidates and what their views are on the issues, but we don't have to condemn them as people.

All of us are created in God's image and worthy of respect. We can voice our views about issues and our disagreements about our stand on them without treating the actual person in a hateful and arrogant way. If I hear someone treating someone in a condemning or condescending way, I will turn the station or turn away. I don't want to fill my mind and heart with that. That being said, I don't agree with the way our country is being run and I stay informed of the issues and where the candidates stand. I will speak out about their stand on certain issues if I feel they are harmful, but I will not attack them as a person.

The next nine months are going to be filled with political debates, primaries, and then finally the general election and there will be much discussion and debate across our great country. I plan on being informed and stand up and speak out about the issues that are important to me, but I am going to do my best to not attack the person themselves even if I strongly disagree with their position.

Speaking negatively and criticizing others really doesn't help any way. Let's focus on the good in people, honor them even if we disagree, and try to turn our nation to a culture of honor once again.

bottom of page