top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

A Cry for Help!


If you have been around young children, you know that around the toddler age most of them go through a state of wanting to do things themselves. They don't want anyone's help. "I can do it myself!" is heard often. It is all a part of growing up and they do need to learn how to do things on their own. However, as a believer in Jesus, there should never be a time when we feel we don't need God's help. If we never ask for His help, we are missing on a great gift He has given us.

When Jesus was in His final days on earth, He told His disciples He would soon be going away, but that He would send the Holy Spirit - the Helper - who would be with us forever (John 14:16). In fact, Jesus even said in John 16:7, "It is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper shall not come to you; but if I go, I will send Him to you."

Why would we not want to ask for His help? There are several reasons, but a couple are pride or feeling like we don't deserve to ask Him. We think we can handle life ourselves or we feel like we're not good enough or that we aren't worthy. But God WANTS us to come to Him.

The Psalms are filled with cries for help or acknowledging His help. Psalm 33:20 says, "Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and shield." Psalm 109:26 says, "Help me, O Lord my God; Save me according to Your lovingkindness." One of the most loved Psalms says, "I will lift up my eyes to the mountains, From where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth." (Psalm 121:1-2)

So when should we ask for help? Anytime we need it! We can ask God for help in every area of our life - from the smallest detail to the hardest times. You may be going through a very difficult time with lots of stress. If so, cry out for help. Don't try to handle this life by yourself. His ear is open to your cry and He has sent the Holy Spirit to help you.

You may need grace to get through a situation. Hebrews 4:16 says, "Let us therefore draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and may find grace to help in time of need." Maybe you feel like your world is being shaken and you feel overwhelmed. "God is our refuge and strength; A very present help in trouble." (Psalm 46:1)

Whatever may be going on in your life, I encourage you to ask for help. There have been several times in my life recently I have not prayed a long prayer; I have simply cried out, "Help me, Jesus!", and He has been faithful to meet me at my point of need. I encourage you to ask Him for His help as well anytime you need it.

bottom of page