top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Cost of Freedom


This weekend millions of Americans will be celebrating Memorial Day - the day when those who died in active military service are remembered. The cemeteries will be decorated with many flowers as well as flags on the graves of those who died serving our great nation.

I am proud to say my dad as well as my father-in-law served in WWII and Korea. They were part of the greatest generation. Both have gone on to heaven, but we are still thankful for their military service. We both have other family have served and to all of them we say, "Thank you."

The only person I have known personally who died in active duty was a former neighbor. When I was growing up, there was a small rental home on our acreage. At one point a couple named Jack and Margaret Chambers moved in. Not long after, he was called to duty in the Vietnam conflict. My mother tells the story of how when Jack drove away his last time, she looked over at my dad and he said, with tears streaming down his face, "He's not coming back." He somehow knew he would not see him again.

I still vividly remember the day we got the news that Jack's helicopter had been shot down and that he had died. I remember exactly where I was standing in the kitchen when my mom answered that unforgettable phone call. Even though I couldn't fully comprehend at the age of eleven the magnitude of what had happened, I still remember the reaction of my parents.

Jack's funeral was the first I ever attended. I don't remember the service itself, but there is a scene etched in my mind that I have never been able to shake. We were in our car behind the vehicle Margaret was in. She turned toward us with a grief-stricken expression and tears that could not be stopped.

Over the course of our nation's history, millions have given their lives for our freedom. We do celebrate our freedom these men and women died to preserve for us. But in the midst of our family get-togethers, picnics, trips to the lake, and savoring a long weekend (for some of us), let's take some time to reflect upon those who have made it all possible.

We live in a dangerous world and there are those who hate our country and hate our freedom. They are doing all they can to destroy "The Great Satan" (the United States) and to kill those who do not agree with their religion. Because of this, we have many serving in our military who risk their lives and are away from their families on this holiday. Even though they have not given their lives, they are willing to in order for us to have the freedom we enjoy.

Please take time today to thank a veteran or a current military person. Say a prayer for those serving in dangerous parts of our world. Freedom is not free. There is a great price to pay. If you have served, we thank you. If a loved one has died in active duty, please know their sacrifice was not in vain and we have not forgotten.

May God continue to bless our great country and protect our service men and women. May He give continued to give grace to the family members that spend this holiday far from their loved ones. I am a grateful American.

bottom of page