top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Rose-Colored Glasses

I love everything about fall - the holidays, football, sweaters and boots, family get-togethers, wood burning in the fireplace, and the gorgeous foliage. Jerry and I recently went to Branson fully expecting by the middle of November that the leaves would be off the trees. However, because of the late summer, the foliage was still beautiful and to me it was especially radiant. You see, I see the world through rose-colored glasses.

The rose-colored glasses make the beautiful colors just that much more brilliant. Every once in a while I would take them off to see how they really looked. Very pretty, but not the same. I quickly put them back on.

This morning on my way to work, I couldn’t find my sunglasses so I threw my back-up pair in my purse. As the sun began to rise, I put them on. Everything looked different as my back-up pair are blue. The sky looked especially blue, but the fall colors were not as fascinating as when I wear my normal sunglasses. The lenses make all the difference.

It made me think about how we all see things. How do you see the world? What is your perspective? We all see the world through our own set of lenses. Do you see life through grateful or critical lenses? Has your past clouded your vision to the point you see life through hurt and pain and disappointment? Do you look for the good around you or does it seem there is always something negative happening to you?

Just as I have a choice which sunglasses I wear, I have a choice about what kind of perspective and outlook I will have. My life has some real challenges right now, as I’m sure many of yours do as well, but I have made a decision to keep my “rose-colored” glasses on. Not my physical sunglasses, but the lenses on my soul. I want to see this life with all its brilliant colors.

My blue sunglasses made the sky look blue and would be great on the water, but they are darker and don’t enhance the beautiful colors of fall. My husband and I joke that I live in my own little world behind my rose-colored glasses, but in reality, I want to choose to see life as a beautiful gift I have been given.

There are so many things to enjoy in this life and I don’t want to focus on only the hard times and challenges, but on the wonderful world around me. If you have lived very long at all, you have heard Louis Armstrong’s song, “What a Wonderful World.” Let me refresh me on the words:

I see trees of green, red roses too. I see them bloom for me and you and I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white, the bright blessed day, the dark sacred night and I think to myself what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky are also on the faces of people going by.

I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do. They're really saying I love you.

I hear babies crying, I watch them grow. They'll learn much more than I'll never know

And I think to myself what a wonderful world. Yes, I think to myself what a wonderful world.

(Songwriters: GEORGE DAVID WEISS, ROBERT THIELE)

As we begin 2017, we can choose what lenses we will see the world through. What kind of glasses will you be wearing?

bottom of page